Performancing Metrics

There's A Book

gonelisamcmannGone by Lisa McMann

Published by Simon Pulse

Ages: Young Adult

Pages: 224

Summary from Goodreads: Janie thought she knew what her future held. And she thought she’d made her peace with it. But she can’t handle dragging Cabel down with her.

She knows he will stay with her, despite what she sees in his dreams. He’s amazing. And she’s a train wreck. Janie sees only one way to give him the life he deserves: She has to disappear. And it’s going to kill them both.

Then a stranger enters her life — and everything unravels. The future Janie once faced now has an ominous twist, and her choices are more dire than she’d ever thought possible. She alone must decide between the lesser of two evils. And time is running out….

Hands

“For readers of Lisa McMann’s Wake Triology, Gone was a book we were all anxiously waiting for.  The story of a girl who has an incredible ability to help others in a most unusual way and unfortunately for her, a detrimental side effect. A heart wrenching love story with a devastating choice. And of course, McMann’s writing is another of the many reasons readers fell in love with Janie & Cabel‘s story. For those reasons I actually had my book on pre-order for some time and have been waiting until I could find a solid block of time to read it straight through. Well, I completed it today…

“Where to start? The good…Everything seems to be wrapped up tightly in a nice little package. It’s nice to get to the end of a series and feel some closure and to a certain extent I do. There were also some wonderful additions to this book that you didn’t get in the others, like glimpses into some of the less prominent characters lives and some new to the series. But overall, it was her writing that I really loved again.

“And now, for the not so good…Am I the only person who really gets bugged when about a quarter to a third of a way through the book you already know what’s going to happen? I’d be really surprised if I was. In all honesty I felt like this was written to be written. I know that Lisa McMann has mentioned on her site and on Amazon that it was a grueling process to write this last book. I don’t want to diminish the time and work she put into this, but other than the writing style I was a little disappointed. Where was Cabel? And the plot seemed to just float along, never really peaking with the exception of one major event that had already been eluded to numerous times.

“All in all, it was a decent wrap up to a wonderful beginning. I’m not upset that I took the time to read it, on the contrary, it was nice to spend some time again with Janie’s character and get to know her mom just a bit better. But overall a disappointing end to what started off so well, in my humble opinion.”

The1stdaughter Recommends: Ages 16/17. There’s at least one scene that’s a bit mature for younger audiences.

For the Comments: What do you think? Have you ever read a series where the end fell a little flat? How did you feel about it (torn/ok)? Did you read this one and feel I’m wrong? Let me know! I’d love to hear what you think about it!

This book was purchased for our home library.
Purchasing products by clicking through the links in this post will provide us a modest commission through our affiliate relationship with Amazon.com.

14 Responses to Gone by Lisa McMann

  1. Jenn says:

    I gotta agree with you, I was sad THIS was the “end” we got to what started out to be an amazing AMAZING series…this book to me, if you took it like maybe a “companion novel” not the end of a series, it was good…but as the end, it just feel totally flat 🙁
    .-= Jenn´s last blog .."Quotes" Giveaway! =-.

    • I completely agree. The other two just seemed so driven, they just seemed to pull you through the book. And although I finished this one relatively quickly, I attribute that primarily to McMann’s writing style and not so much the plot. Definitely flat. Unfortunately.

  2. Aths says:

    I have to read this series! Good review!!

  3. Social comments and analytics for this post…

    This post was mentioned on Twitter by the1stdaughter: Gone by Lisa McMann http://goo.gl/fb/LO6d

  4. Abbie says:

    I remember reading Dan Brown’s latest, the Lost Symbol and feeling like I more or less knew what was going to happen. While it was still “somewhat” of a page turner (read guilty pleasure) I was still somewhat disappointed. It just measure up to his other novels.

  5. […] my most popular review yet!) Danny The Dragon by Tina Turbin (Review Copy provided by the Author) Gone by Lisa […]

  6. Gina says:

    Alas, I have not read this series as of yet, but have heard mixed reviews overall. One series that fell a bit flat for me was the SERIES OF UNFORTUNATE EVENTS. I mean I know it wasn’t suppose to be entirely satisfying, but really…couldn’t it have at least been appetizer size?

  7. I have to agree with ya, this last book was a disappointment – and I loved Wake so much 🙁
    .-= Mel (He followed Me Home)´s last blog ..It’s Monday! What Are You Reading? – March 29, 2010 =-.

  8. NotNessie says:

    I’m scared to read this. I think I’m going to hate it, and I’m happier leaving the ending where it was after the second book.
    .-= NotNessie´s last blog ..Blogger Interview: Ashley from Ashley’s Library =-.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *