Performancing Metrics

There's A Book

Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn
Pages: 326
Ages: Young Adult
Buy It: Amazon | Amazon Kindle | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords | iTunes
Goodreads Summmary:

When everyone reads minds, a secret is a dangerous thing to keep.

Sixteen-year-old Kira Moore is a zero, someone who can’t read thoughts or be read by others. Zeros are outcasts who can’t be trusted, leaving her no chance with Raf, a regular mindreader and the best friend she secretly loves. When she accidentally controls Raf’s mind and nearly kills him, Kira tries to hide her frightening new ability from her family and an increasingly suspicious Raf. But lies tangle around her, and she’s dragged deep into a hidden world of mindjackers, where having to mind control everyone she loves is just the beginning of the deadly choices before her.

In a world where everyone who’s normal has the ability to read minds being special isn’t exactly what Kira was hoping for. As the world around her booms and brightens with the loud cacophony of thoughts Kira’s world is silent, the only noise she hears are the thoughts in her own mind. That is until her best friend Raf attempts to kiss her and immediately ends up falling to the ground completely knocked out. From that point forward Kira’s life changes forever. She learns from a fellow student that she’s a mindjacker, and a powerful one at that. Having the ability to enter and control the thoughts of those around her is the last thing she’d thought she’d be doing during high school, but it may lead to more problems than simply knocking her best friend unconscious.

In a growing pool of young adult fiction Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn stands out as a novel with a fantastic premise, excellent characters and an incredibly well executed plot. Being a fan of dystopian and sci-fi in young adult books this was exactly the type of book I was hoping to fall in love with and absolutely did. Quinn took the idea of human evolution and took it one step further by adding an element of involvement from the government. It wasn’t that they were simply involved in the aftermath of the evolution, but the initial development by introducing toxins into the water supply that eventually triggered the first changes to mind reading by all. This was certainly a unique concept, especially since the entire population was affected by it and I’m now interested to see where the idea goes from here in the next two books in the series.

Now everyone who knows my reading preferences know that I am not a huge fan of the typical love triangle and at first I thought I was going to be annoyed by Kira’s love intersts, but I absolutely wasn’t. Obvious to anyone who reads Open Minds there’s a huge development at the end of the story that changes everything making the love triangle completely different than those other more typical situations. Between the two I’d certainly say I was much more on the side of Raf, her childhood friend, than Simon, the “bad boy”, but as the story went on I did feel more sympathetic towards Simon and his situation. In many ways I could understand Kira’s desire to be with Simon because of their shared abilities, but at first the way she shunned Raf was a bit irritating since he was always so supportive of her “zero” status. In the end the conflict was perfect and the way all of their relationships progressed were extremely believable.

Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn is a brilliant addition to the ever increasing pool of dystopian/sci-fi young adult fiction. There’s something for readers of all types in this fantastic new YA novel, from action to romance to science and more. As many of my readers know, I don’t read many self-published books primarily because I find the stories underdeveloped and poorly edited. To be honest I’m completely shocked Quinn’s Mindjacker series hasn’t been picked up by a major publisher, because it certainly doesn’t fall into either of my dis-qualifiers. This is a novel that’s been extremely well thought out, written beautifully, and it’s obviously been edited professionally. YA readers who love authors like Ally Condie, Veronica Roth, Lauren Oliver and others would be missing out if they failed to pick up Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn. Join Kira on her journey to save her fellow mindjackers and potentially change the landscape of her world forever.

The1stdaughter Recommends: Ages

Find Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn at the following spots:
Amazon | Amazon Kindle | Barnes & Noble | Smashwords | iTunes | Goodreads

Giveaway!

Thanks to the author I’m also offering an eBook copy of Open Minds to one There’s A Book reader thanks to Susan. Thank you! Please fill out the form below and good luck!

Thank you so much to the author, Susan Kaye Quinn, for providing a copy of this book for review and giveaway! Connect with her on Twitter and on Facebook!
Purchasing products by clicking through the links in this post will provide us a modest commission through our various affiliate relationships.

5 Responses to Book Review and Giveaway: Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn

  1. Great giveaway and I love a good dystopian book 🙂

  2. O great review. You make it sound so good. I like love triangles but only well done ones.

  3. Hey there- Your post showed up on my blog, I have a novel out there, “”Mindjacker”. It’s a crime thriller. Best of luck to Susan, and cool site you have here.

  4. What a great review. I’m looking forward to reading this book once November is done (super busy this month).

  5. Deb Novack says:

    Sounds like a really good book would love to read it. Thanks for the giveaway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *